Carry License

**Due to the surge in License to Carry Firearms (LTC) inquiry and processing we are forced to cease issuing a License to Carry Firearms to anyone outside of Bucks County and Out of State indefinitely.  


Doylestown , Wednesday: 5/17, 6/21, 7/19, 8/16, 9/20, 10/18, 11/15, 12/20   From 4:30 PM TO 7:30 PM.

Levittown and Quakertown,  Saturday:  5/27, 6/24, 7/29, 8/26, 9/30, 10/28, 11/18, 12/16  From 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM

Important New Procedure

There are two ways to apply for or renew your Concealed Carry License. This may be completed online or in office.



Please remember to record your Permitium username and password as you will need these credentials.

When applying online, you will receive notification once your carry license is ready for pick up. Pick-ups may be completed at all three locations.

Pick-ups that are not completed within 30 days of notification, an additional charge of $5.00 (cash) will be due upon pick up for an additional background check that will be needed. If the pick-up is not competed by the 45th day, the application will be voided and you will need to reapply. No exceptions. No refunds.

The fee is $20.00 (in office):

  • Cash
  • Visa/Mastercard
  • Note: there is a 2.8% service charge for credit cards.


You will need a valid Pennsylvania Driver's License or Identification Card:

  • We do not accept temporary cards.
  • If you have moved, you must first change your address with Penn Dot and
  • present the yellow address update card.
  • If you are a first time applicant and you have a driver's license, identification card or yellow update card that has been issued less than 6 months ago, you will need to provide proof of residency.

Proof of Residency

Previous driver's license or identification card with a Bucks County address or two different utility bills:

  • Cable
  • Electric
  • Gas
  • House Phone
  • Internet
  • Lease Agreement
  • Mortgage Statement
  • Sewer
  • Water


  • Renewals are due every 5 years.  The earliest you can renew is 60 days prior to the expiration date.  For renewals, the application will need to be completed again in its entirety. 


  • You must apply in person. Applications are not accepted through the mail.
  • The application must be completed in its entirety.
  • Two references are required with complete names, addresses (no P.O. Boxes) and telephone numbers.
  • References:
    • Cannot be related to you
    • Cannot live with you
    • Cannot be related to each other
    • Cannot live with each other

Please Note: if you have ever been convicted of a misdemeanor one, misdemeanor that is domestic related, felony charge or crime of violence or drugs, you will be denied a license to carry in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

View the Application for a Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms (PDF).

Carry License Info

Additional Information for Medical Marijuana Cardholders:

Per the Pennsylvania State Police Website:

It is legal under Pennsylvania law for the holder of a validly issued patient Medical Marijuana Card to possess approved forms of medical marijuana. However, as per the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATFE), the possession of medical marijuana remains a violation of federal law, and possession of a valid Medical Marijuana Card and/or the use of medical marijuana makes you an “unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance” who is prohibited by federal law from the purchase or acquisition, possession, or control of a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3), and 27 C.F.R. § 478.32(a)(3).

The BATFE’s position is set forth in its September 21, 2011, Open Letter to all Federal Firearms Licensees, which states in part that “therefore, any person who uses or is addicted to marijuana, regardless of whether his or her State has passed legislation authorizing marijuana use for medicinal purposes, is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance, and is prohibited by Federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition.” Likewise, the mere possession of a Medical Marijuana Card will give rise to an inference that you are an “unlawful user of or addicted to” a controlled substance, pursuant to 27 C.F.R. § 478.11.

Therefore, it is also unlawful for you to apply for, possess or renew a Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearm (LTC), because you are “[a]n individual who is prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm under the statutes of the United States.” (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Chapter 18, Section 6109(e)(1)(xiv).

Doylestown Location Only

The following applicants below must apply at the Doylestown location only:

  • Active Duty Military: 
    • Must be stationed in Pennsylvania.
    • Copy of orders verifying that you are stationed in Pennsylvania.
    • Valid Driver's License or Identification Card.
    • Must be currently living in Bucks County, Pennsylvania
    • Two utility bills
  • Denial Reversals: All applicants that were denied upon applying but have received a denial reversal letter back from the Pennsylvania State Police, need to bring the denial reversal letter and $15 (cash only) to re-apply.
  • Lost/Stolen: All lost or stolen concealed carry licenses need to have a lost or stolen form filled out and notarized upon re-applying. Note: this form can be picked up at the Levittown and Doylestown locations; however, it can only be processed at Doylestown.



Bucks County Justice Center
100 N Main Street
Floor B2
Doylestown, PA 18901
Phone: 215-348-6124

Monday through Friday
8 am to  4 pm                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Note: applications are not accepted after 3:45 pm.


Government Service Center
7321 New Falls Road
Levittown, PA 19055
Phone: 215-348-6130

Monday through Friday
8 am to  4 pm                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Note: applications are not accepted after 3:45 pm.


Government Service Center                                                                                                                                                                                               261 California Road                                                                                                                                                                                                               Quakertown, PA 18951                                                                                                                                                                                                         Phone: 215-529-7250  

Wednesday Only    
8 am to 4 pm                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Note: applications are not accepted after 3:45 pm.  


Please Note: in case of closure at either the Levittown, concealed carry license processing may be completed at the Doylestown office.