Requirements & Restrictions

All Marriage Licenses:

  • Are issued after a 3 day waiting period
  • Are valid for 60 calendar days
  • Can be used only in the State of Pennsylvania

All Applicants Must

All Applicants must, at the time they appear before the Clerk of the Orphans' Court:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Provide government-issued photo ID
  • Provide proof of dissolution of most recent previous marriage
    • Divorce Decree (photocopy acceptable)
    • Civil Annulment (photocopy acceptable)
    • Death Certificate (must be original)

Applicants May Not

  • Be under the influence of drugs or alcohol at the time of application
  • Be related to each other closer than second cousins

For other prohibitions, check with the Clerk of Orphans' Court or your attorney

Modifying Factors

If either applicant:

  • Has had a legal name change
    • Present name change Decree
    • Including permission to resume maiden name after divorce
  • Does not speak English, you must provide your own interpreter
    • Your interpreter must be over 18
    • Present interpreter's government-issued photo ID
  • Has a foreign document, you must present:
    • The original document
    • An English translation with an affidavit of accuracy and a notarized signature
  • Is incarcerated, you must have the warden contact our office to make arrangements for coming to the courthouse to apply; please contact the office for further directions
  • "Is weak minded, insane, of unsound mind or is under guardianship as a person of unsound mind," you must petition the court for permission to marry per 23 Pa. C.S. § 1304 (c); please contact the office for further directions

Requisitos de Traductor

Si el solicitante no habla Inglés, usted debe traer un traductor Inglés con usted cuando usted solicita. El traductor debe tener dieciocho años de edad con identificación. Los solicitantes no pueden ayudarse unos a otros durante la aplicación. Para los documentos en otros idiomas aparte del Inglés, por favor traiga el documento original y una traducción al Inglés, con una declaración jurada de la precisión y la firma ante notario.

Требования к переводчику

Если какой-либо заявитель не говорит на английском языке, вы должны принести переводчика в возрасте старше восемнадцати лет, и лицензировать свои водительские права или паспорт с вами, когда вы подаете заявление. Вы не можете переводить друг друга во время нанесения. Для документов на других языках, кроме английского, пожалуйста, принесите копию исходного документа, и переведены на английский, с точностью и под присягой, и нотариально заверенные подписью.

Spanish and Russian translations produced using Google Translate


There is no residency requirement for a marriage license, however, this is a Pennsylvania marriage license and the marriage ceremony must take place within the Commonwealth.


If any couple believes they have been unfairly denied a Marriage License, you have the right to appeal to the Bucks County Court of Common Pleas under the Marriage Law, 23 Pa. C.S.A. §1308.